I love to sew. I love to drink wine. I love to cook. I love to bike. I love to garden. I love to learn new things. I love living a simple life.

Quilt Finished

I did finish a quilt this summer.  I must admit summer is usually time I do not sew or quilt.  The sewing room is upstairs and can get quite hot plus since it’s hot I really don’t like having a quilt on me.  It is really hard to put on the binding without having that quilt on you.  Well that might not be completely true.  One could finish the quilt on the sewing machine instead of hand tacking down the binding. 

P1030141-001

I made this quilt for the French Seam State Fair Challenge.  The French Seam is a great little store in Indianapolis.  They have a wonderful selection of apparel fabrics and a small but great selection of quilting fabrics.   My challenge was the color surf, a really pretty deepish blue.   I had the fabrics picked out right away.  I have been collecting ocean fabrics.  Next I needed a pattern.  Sonia taught me to quilt and she has 2 of these stars hanging in her house.  I love them and thought an ocean star would be perfect.  I do love the way this turned out. 

Leave a comment